HOT OIL TREATMENT

I sometimes struggle with dry scalp and dandruff. Using hot oil treatments before shampooing my hair has helped prevent dandruff. I usually apply the hot oil treatment to my scalp, massage it in and then apply it to my hair strands.

I cover my hair with a plastic bag and let the treatment sit on my hair for 15-20 mins. I never let it sit on my hair overnight. Even though leaving it overnight may be useful, I just can’t sleep knowing something is sitting on my hair…lol😃

WHAT IS HOT OIL TREATMENT?

Most naturals know what this is but for the sake of newly naturals and our brothers wanting to know about it, Hot Oil Treatment is when you mix your favourite hair oils or butters, heat or warm it and then apply it to your hair not forgetting your scalp (it needs nourishment too). Remember to spritz some water before applying. It helps keep the oil in your hair and allow it do its work. For best treatment cover your hair with a plastic bag and wait for 15-20 mins before washing your hair. Below is why you need a hot oil Treatment.

1. Increases Blood Circulation to Your Scalp

Pairing the treatment with heat and massages help to stimulate blood flow to your scalp and in turn helps aid in hair growth.

2. Helps Prevent Split Ends and Tame Frizz

Hot oil treatments can help to prevent frizz without weighing the hair down. They also help seal the hair with moisture which helps to prevent split ends.

3. Help Moisturize Dry Brittle Hair

Hot oil treatment will help add moisture back into your hair especially when you spritz water before applying it to your hair. Note that oils aren’t moisturizers. Hot oil treatments help oils to be deposited back into the hair preventing dryness that can contribute to breakage.

4. Strengthens Hair and adds Shine

After doing hot oil treatments, you’ll notice that your hair is stronger and healthier. You will also notice that your hair is less dull and has a beautiful shine because of the moisture produced by the heat.

It’s best to do a hot oil treatment every week or every two weeks depending on how dry your hair becomes with time. My last treatment was today😊 and my oils were hemp seed oil, neem oil and shea oil.

When last did you have a hot oil treatment? What were your oils?

I care to know.


2 thoughts on “HOT OIL TREATMENT

Leave a comment